Take your time

by juliusmsanz

Are you meeting some sort of deadline?

Are you in a rush?

No?

Then take your time.

I believe this is one of the biggest mistakes a rookie writer can make: they rush things and end with sub par works. It’s obvious something will lack quality if it’s a rushed, unpolished version and in professional writing it shows more often than not that you just don’t pay enough attention and/or care to what you are doing.

Where is this coming from? First of all let me rant a little bit.

Whenever I end up reading writing articles or blogs or whatnot I seem to find some posts that go like this: “I wrote my first book at 13, I’m 14 now and I’m writing my second book.” Something along these lines. I get angry, not because I’m jealous, but because I know it’s clearly something that lacks quality if it’s even true at all. I probably should know better than to vent this anger but I’ll just show it.

You have to take your time when writing a book.

Why? Won’t the pages get filled every day now that I’m grinding my work?

Well, yes, but you still need time. In order to produce a professional looking book, and of course I’m speaking about doing most of the work yourself, you need at least half a year. And that’s being optimistic. How can a 13-year-old grasp the language, know how to edit and page and all that stuff? How can a 13-year-old write an average book at that? I’m sorry, and I don’t mean to discourage young writers, but you just can’t write books like that and I doubt that you can produce a coherent piece at the age of 12 or 13 or even 15 for that matter. It took me 2 years to think and work on a story. You have to develop your plot, you have to think about a setting, you have to create amazing characters, you have to make a million different things in order to get the final product to be a good piece of writing. And revising your work, oh my god, I don’t even want to talk about that now.

So take your time.

You see, you don’t need to rush, you can work on it as much as you want and shouldn’t worry about deadlines. I wrote some flash fiction some years ago and still needed to revise my work at least 5 times before it got to the point where I could be proud of myself, and that still doesn’t mean it’s any good. Look at these posts, they still aren’t how I want them to be, I’m still not satisfied.

Before you start writing you should try to get a rough draft of the story, just so you can get some sense of direction, to see what is the point of the story. It can be as simple as this: A goes through B, C and D in order to get to E. This is just one simple suggestion but it can really give you the sense of what you want the story to be. You should do whatever it suits you, but don’t forget that while this is your story it’s going to be read by people who don’t know anything about it and you need to think about those people too.

So yeah, plan, revise, don’t let yourself think that it’s over just because you finally wrote those 20 or 30,000 words, take care of your story. Even if it takes one or two years do it at your own pace, but please don’t rush it.

Tune in tomorrow for some more tips and run of the mill advice on writing.

