When you get that feeling…

by juliusmsanz

Yes, I keep on delaying the post I should write about, and yes that title is a reference to Marvin Gaye’s song.

Let me get personal for a bit.

Every writer subjects himself to failure each time he, or she, decides to write something. Sometimes it’s frustrating because you just can’t put what you want into words or you feel that what you are writing about is great and original and then you find out the hard way it’s not. It’s more than frustrating, it’s unbearable.

When I started writing it happened to me all the time. But it came down on me hard when I wrote the first book. I was excited, I was happy, I thought I had something groundbreaking. And when I found out I didn’t I wanted to throw it all away, months of what I considered hard work had all gone to waste. Would I dare to show it to the world? I thought about it for a couple of weeks and, after some advice, I went with it. It’s still terrible. If you don’t have the help of a professional you have to accept that it takes plenty of time to get something above average and enjoyable.

It takes plenty of failure.

And I’ll be honest with you, I thought about quitting, about never writing again. I didn’t want to feel like that ever again and I didn’t want to subject my personal thoughts and my work to other people. It takes a lot of courage to showcase your work. It still pains me a bit to talk about it.

But I didn’t.

I try to write every day. If I can’t, I think and take notes about characters or possible plots and ideas.

You might have thought like I did, if you are just starting to write you may feel like that on some days. And if you do here’s the message: don’t let it get you down and please, please don’t give up.

I said it before and I’ll say it again: every writer is extremely courageous. The act of writing, not every one can take it, it’s a very difficult road and it will beat you down and kick you relentlessly when you’re down. It’s easy to get discouraged.

But at the same time I cannot tell you how gratifying it is to finally get your story done and have people read it.

The road is long and it’s easy to back down, but the light at the end of the tunnel… man oh man.

So get up and push on!

