Getting in the mood

by juliusmsanz

If you’re a writer this situation happened to you at least once: you come home from work, you’re tired, you just want to have a good time, relax, enjoy yourself. You look at your manuscript and feel like blowing it off for one day, nothing good will come from writing while tired and without the proper mindset.

What gives you the urge to write?

I have some friends working on papers and trying to finish their studies, they have these big papers to write and just, and this is my personal opinion, work on them for months. I get it, but at the same time I don’t get it. It feels to me like they’re postponing the job. I know the drill, I know how it works and I know there are many things I’m blowing off. Can I really criticise them?

Writing is all about setting the time to get the job done, and I’m assuming you’ve done your research, worked on your characters, outlined your plot and all those things. For me writing is just about writing. I know most of what I write is going to turn out bad, it happens, I revise and revise until exhaustion. Deadlines are good because while you worry, you realise you need to get it done. Pressure is a good thing. I like working with deadlines, it shows me that there is a light at the end of that dark tunnel.

By now you’re asking yourselves what does this have to do with the title. I’m getting there, don’t worry.

Writing is hard, that’s just how it is. I wrote under conditions that got me nowhere because I just couldn’t get the words out.

What helps? Getting in the mood.

A couple of years ago I found out that when I’m angry, or feel really pumped, I can get the job done much faster. I was writing page after page after finding out that. It wasn’t inspiration, it was just the fact that I took out my frustrations on the story. That got me going like a raging bull. I know I wrote on previous posts that you just have to set the time and go at it. I also know that it’s easier said than done. If you want to increase your productivity as a writer you don’t have to wait until you get in the mood to write, you have to create the mood. Whatever gets you going, you do that. I work with fast paced music going loudly. So let’s analyze my case: I work while feeling angry, I vent my anger on my story, I try to work as fast as the music I’m listening to, it feels like a battle, like I’m kinda fighting for my life.

It’s a draining process but, at the end, when I’m finished I’m completely relaxed and pleased. Why is that? I don’t bottle my feelings and I feel happy that I have an escape and that I actually got the work done. Sure it’s not a perfect process, sure it could be more healthy. What I think matters is this: getting in that mood works wonders, don’t be passive, don’t just wait for it.

See you tomorrow!

