The best thing about being a writer

by juliusmsanz

Just had a bit of an exhausting talk that reminded me of one of the best benefits of being a writer. Maybe I’m thinking like this because of that conversation, but here goes:

There is nothing better than being your own boss.

Sure the pay isn’t that good, when there’s even pay at all, but nothing beats freedom. When you’re a writer you get to do things your own way. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still advisable to have someone tell you what’s right and wrong and reminding you of your schedule when you start to slack off.

Can you smell it? The freedom?

I get to set my schedule, I get to decide how long and how hard I’m going to work on my story, I can get as creative as I want. I know I’m still writing for others and I know I still have to watch out for landmines. It’s one of the most irregular, crazy, demanding jobs in the world, especially if you are a perfectionist, you can go down pretty fast and it can give you mental and physical problems. I gained around 20 lbs while writing my first novel, it was insane.

But there are no politics, there are no goals you feel are nonsensical, no outrageous demands, nobody screaming at you (you scream at yourself), nobody you have to answer to.

Yeah, I’m having one of those days as you might have guessed.

And while freedom is great please hear me out: don’t quit your job and, if you have a family, don’t forget about them.  I just don’t want people to get the wrong impression here.

That is all for today, see you again tomorrow!

