Going Noir

by juliusmsanz

I’ve always been a fan of black, I wear it as much as possible.

In media I’ll also take the black in large quantities. Seriously Noir is just so much fun!

Let’s talk about it for a while. One of my favorite shows back in the day was Veronica Mars, there’s a movie coming out soon!, and I would just sit back and enjoy Veronica use her wits and skills to catch the bad guys and dish out some justice. She was such an interesting, compelling character that I just felt mesmerized by her. If you know it good for you, if you have no clue about what I’m saying please check it out as soon as possible.

vmars

Why was the show interesting and Veronica so good? First of all she was powerful, not strong, powerful. And she was also a broken character, her fall from grace and her ability to not just survive, but thrive, in high school and working as a private eye were the biggest reasons for me to tune in. And then there’s the setting, so bright and colorful sometimes, so dark and brooding at others. It was an intelligent and witty tv series. Noir and Neo noir are just so cool to immerse yourself into.

So why am I talking about this? Just recently I got the chance to watch Brick, another interesting neo noir film, and it reminded me of how much I love the genre. The film is gritty and mysterious. It’s refreshing to see something different from the usual explosions and nonsensical plots you get to watch more often than not.

Using elements of Noir you can create a tense atmosphere and some tragic heroes or anti-heroes. You can blur the lines and twist your plot. It’s drama at it’s finest for me because it never gets overdramatic, it never gets outlandish. Noir protagonists usually have great depth, they can be anti-heroes, they can be Byronic heroes, they can be whatever you want them to be. They have great internal conflict, making sure that they live near the edge of society, and more often than not they fail miserably, even dying. But when they die, they die like badasses. Think about another noir style film: Sin City. Remember how Marv died? Or how Hartigan died? Those guys were badasses, for me at least. They had some great fatal flaws and played around them wonderfully.

marv

I’m going to keep on watching some other movies, look at Blade Runner again, see Humphrey Bogart smoke a few more cigarettes and take some notes, because you can learn a great deal about drama and character development from it.

I’ll be the first to admit: I haven’t read anything I could consider noir, maybe some of you will suggest some interesting stories.

That is all for today, see you again tomorrow!

