Literary Devices – Part 4

by juliusmsanz

I’m amazed and sad at the same time. I’ve reached part four of this series, but at the same time I feel it’s time to move on a bit. Why? First of all, I don’t think I’m doing them proper justice, and there are other things I want to focus my attention on. So yeah, this is going to be the final part of Literary Devices (at least for now), there are many more, revolving around plot, characters, style and others.

So let’s talk about three interesting ones.

First up comes the cut-up technique. Now this is a little bizarre, it reminds me in a way of the Choose your own adventure books. Those were pretty cool, and I had plenty of fun playing with them. This technique is all about writing your story and just changing things. You can place some of your middle in the beginning, some of your beginning in the end, some of your end in the beginning. It’s all about using your imagination. The story and plot still need to make sense though. I like working around concepts like these, and they can also be challenging. When you’re working with a mystery, your best bet is to start with the finish. Why do I say this? Because you need to know how the story ends, and then you build it from there. Most of the time I just have certain scenes in my mind and work with them to complete my stories. This technique uses both these methods in a way, just further distorts your story. If you’re up for a challenge and you want to challenge your readers you should definitely consider it.

Next up is the Stream of Consciousness. Another fun and interesting literary device. The stream of consciousness is all about writing down your thoughts as if you’re writing a monologue. Sounds pretty straightforward right? Well, while it is fun to write as your mind works, and keep in mind that most of the time it’s not as coherent as you think, it can be difficult to do that properly. You see, you can forget punctuation, but stream of consciousness is not a rough draft, it still has meaning. You don’t just write however you like, you are writing your character’s thought process. It can be weird, it can go from a place to another, it can make little sense, but that doesn’t justify poor writing. Of course it must also mean something plot-wise or character-wise. Don’t forget that, if you do you are just writing poorly.

And now comes Alliteration. Alliteration is all about writing style and adding something extra to your list of skills. It consists simply on a repeated sound or letter in the beginning of the words. Look at this for example: He was acting against an angry android. See what I did there? It’s mindless fun.

Ok, this is it for now, see you again tomorrow!

Have a nice day!

