Cleaning

by juliusmsanz

What does this have to do with writing?

Absolutely nothing.

I just decided to do my Spring cleaning early this year. It’s easy work. Why is that? Because I don’t have much. A couple of months ago I decided that I needed a big change in my life, don’t ask me where that came from as I’m not sure myself, and thought about all the stuff I had. Was it serving any purpose? I didn’t think so at the time, and I stand firm in my convictions. After searching all the papers, books, useless junk, clothes… all that stuff, I thought about donating most of it. I don’t need it anymore and there might be someone who can use them to learn or to just improve in general.

I discarded my materialistic view of the world. Am I going to take those things to my grave? No way. Am I keeping them to show how rich I am? No, because I’m nowhere near rich. So why was I keeping all that stuff? Some I still have for the memories, or if I really like it or is still useful. Other than that, I fail to see the point. My place looks bigger now and I can clean the dust better. I don’t have to wonder where that one piece of paper went, or search for something and not knowing where it is. Yeah I tend to be a bit disorganized.

I look around and feel good.

So I donated a bit more. I also find out that the more organized I am the more time I have to do things that truly matter. I volunteer more, I exercise more, I’m living a healthier lifestyle.

So yeah, sometimes we just need to take some time for ourselves, and look into the real important stuff. It’s the same every day: we get up early, we go to work, we do some shopping and get home tired, working jobs we don’t like, putting up with crap we don’t have to. I’m tired of that life.

Life’s just gets too damned short doing those things.

And that just reminded me of an interesting quote by Seneca:

“It’s not that we have so little time but we lose so much… The life we receive is not short but we make it so; we are not ill-provided but use what we have wastefully.”

Every time I look at this quote it dawns on me, that I have to keep focusing on what’s important: helping others whenever I can, and at the same time enjoying life and taking advantage of the little pleasures.

Well this is it for today, hope I wasn’t too preachy (hate doing that).

See you again tomorrow, have a good one!

