Narration – part 6

by juliusmsanz

It’s funny how fast things can change. One minute you’re having a good time, and then, all of a sudden, you are bombarded with bad situations and calls. And so we must adapt and try to control the situation so we cannot get overwhelmed again. Life gives us plenty of little valuable lessons that we can learn from if we pay attention and are willing to change.

Enough of cryptic messages, let’s talk about narration again.

Today I’ll go a little deeper into the third-person narrative, but not too much, because I want to talk to you about the future.

I believe that an omniscient narrator is the second best type, only behind the first-person narrative. Why? Because you can talk about anything you want to, and you can explain and show the characters feelings. It’s a very common type of narration, but I write mostly in first-person. I’ve written before that you can play God, and it’s true, you have complete freedom, but at the same time you need to know that when you are writing in any type of person you need to pay attention to verb tenses and focus on doing one thing, you have to be consistent with your choices. If you are using an omniscient point of view then you have to use it all the time in your story. I suggest this because you can’t commit to just a couple of characters or one part of the story and leave the rest to the readers to find out. Well, you can technically do that, but I would advise against it. Take a good long look and the Lord of the Rings saga. What do you see? You see depth and care, you see a world fleshed out and characters well-developed. If you are setting yourself up with what many consider the best style you have to go for broke. You have to go for broke for every story that you write, that’s how the game is played.

If you have complete freedom, then you have to take advantage of that freedom. I’m afraid it’s as simple as that. Isn’t it a waste? To not take advantage of every opportunity that you have in your story? Obviously it is a tricky task, because you have to use foreshadowing and many other literary and narrative techniques, and you can set yourself up for failure in a heartbeat. I’ve been writing for months in this blog, saying one thing above all: you have to play to your strengths. Enhance your strengths and minimize or hide your weaknesses.

Now let’s talk about the future a bit. When I started this blog I wanted to share my past experiences and failures and make sure others don’t make the same mistakes. The truth is I’ve learned a lot these past years and feel like I grew as a writer. And when I looked at this blog’s description I remembered that I didn’t want to talk about just writing. So every once in a while I’m going to take a look at films, series, whatever and try to dissect them and discuss them and rant or rave and at the same time try to fit them into writing. You can also learn a lot by watching movies and series, about narrative structure, character development and so on.

That is it for today, hope you enjoyed it, see you again tomorrow.

Have a nice day!

