Do you care?

by juliusmsanz

I came upon a familiar person who is in need of help, but can do some stuff alone. That person seeks help even though it is possible to complete that task with some proper drive. What I’m getting at is this: that person doesn’t care. Sometimes I wonder about that situation and think about the right course of action. Why should I care if the person doesn’t?

I’ve probably written about this before, but thought it merits another post.

Every day I face people who just don’t care about several things and refuse help even though it could make their lives extremely better. I know pride all too well, I’m a very proud person, absurdly proud you might say. But I also know one important thing: if I’m stuck in a rut, I ask for help or advice. The same thing applies to books and novels and stories.

My first book was a colossal failure, it was like I took every single wrong step a writer can take. I didn’t ask for help and still thought I was going to sell plenty of books, that it would be the best thing since sliced bread. It wasn’t, but I hold that book as a reminder of what I was in the past.

And how does this exactly relate to caring?

I believe in karma, and the reality of life basically, if you help someone you are going to be helped somehow. I didn’t care enough about my book to ask for help or seek advice, I didn’t do enough to publicize it or promote it in some sort of coherent fashion, I got mixed with the wrong people. How in the World could I have been successful? I cared about money, not how good my book was, I cared about myself, not about my readers. I thought I knew what I was doing. It is very easy to get an inflated ego, one or two compliments suffice, but an inflated ego will get you nowhere, and reality humbles you in a flash.

So my question lingers: Do you care?

Do you care enough about that you are doing that you are taking everything into consideration? Your readers won’t care for you if you don’t care about it yourself. Are you asking the right questions to the right people? With time you’ll know more and make fewer mistakes.

That is all for now, see you tomorrow.

Have a nice day!

