Top Game of Thrones Characters

by juliusmsanz

I talked about it yesterday, mainly because the new season started Monday; and what can I say? The rush is still there. I’m going to do a top ten, but I won’t fit all the characters in one post, I want to discuss them and to relate them to writing. I’m going to talk about them from the series perspective to not give spoilers.

Now let me give a couple of warnings first: this is my personal opinion and I’m not listing the characters in any particular order. I shouldn’t have to say this, but I want to avoid people complaining over why one character is above another. You are more than welcome to say what your favorite characters are, or why you don’t like the ones I’m going to talk about, just use constructive criticism.

 

20120512214341!Davos_2x04

  • Davos Seaworth, The Onion Knight – There are many reasons I like him, but first and foremost it is because in a world filled with corruption and deceit he is one of the most honest and loyal characters in the series. He lost some of his fingers to Stannis, lost several of his sons in a war for Stannis, was jailed by Stannis, and still remains loyal to him. I think that says a lot about his character. He isn’t afraid to tell the truth on most occasions or even to confront authority and whatever he does is in what he believes to be Stannis’s best interests. The Onion Knight might be a good smuggler and fighter, but what sets him apart from the rest is the fact that he represents the more human side of people. He doesn’t care about how people mocked him calling him Onion Knight, he feels proud of it, he wears the fingers he lost like a badge of honor. I admire his character. He still has a lot to offer and is the perfect lieutenant for Stannis.

 

Varys_Promo

  • Lord Varys, The Spider – Varys is, in a way, the complete opposite of Davos. He is extremely cunning, he can manipulate like the best of them and he acts mostly in the shadows. You look at him and you don’t see what you should see. The fact that he has a spy network all over the world adds to the fact that he could be one of the most powerful men in the series. In the first seasons it was all about the Spider and Littlefinger trying to one up each other, and, while the Spider fell short, I still like him a lot. What sold me was a couple of moments: him talking to Ned Stark, and discussing the Iron Throne with Littlefinger. You can see there’s something else, something we haven’t seen, but at the same time you see he cares. He cares about the state of things and the people, but he won’t stop at anything to achieve his goals. He’s a very mysterious character.

So we have one transparent character and one intriguing character. I like them both, as they add to the series. Two characters down, eight to go.

Expect more tomorrow.

Have a nice day!

