Basketball and Manga

by juliusmsanz

Today I’m not going to talk about writing, I’m going to talk about two things that I like.

The playoffs are upon us, and despite Phoenix not making it, (it was one of the teams I was rooting for since the start of the season) I’m very excited to see what is going to happen next. You might not have known, I share most of my experiences about writing, not other things, but I really like basketball. I can’t wait to see Indiana and San Antonio. I think that this year doesn’t have a lot of surprises in store, but I expect to see a different champion. There are a few interesting matchups like Rockets against the Trailblazers and the Bulls against the Wizards, I can’t wait to see how John Wall is going to perform in his first taste of the playoffs, but I think everything boils down to one question: Can the Heat pull it off again? I don’t think they can. I think Oden is not going to produce and I think D-Wade  had his last hurrah. If they do pull it off I think they can be considered a dynasty, but it is highly unlikely, despite Indiana’s performance drop as the regular season ended. Any other possible champs? I honestly don’t know, but I’d like to read your takes on the matter.

I’m also pretty big on manga, and I’m going to talk about One Piece for a moment. Yes, you read that right, I’m talking about One Piece.

I actually believe One Piece is as close of a Modern Epic as we’ll get, and I’m satisfied with that. I won’t bother with details or spoilers for this. One Piece is as relevant as ever and not only boasts some interesting characters and great fights, it also talks about racism, dictatorships and many other important topics. It brings not only comedy and action to the table, but also a great deal of tragedy and drama. The characters develop and evolve, some villains are very interesting and you also have some well-developed backstories for secondary characters. And the world…the world created Oda created is to be praised. The series is going strong and I believe it will probably last for at least another 5 to 7 years. Why am I telling you this? If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you can still catch up. It has over 700 chapters, but don’t let that fool you, you’ll read them easily and at a very fast pace. I should also let you know that despite being written in comic book style and having “childish” drawings, this is a manga that can and should be read by adults or young adults, since kids won’t be able to pick these themes.

Now I know there’s more serious works of fiction that deserve to be called epics, like The Lord of the Rings saga, and The Game of Thrones and many others, but, and now I’m going to talk against imagination, you can actually see the characters and won’t get lost by the hundreds of characters that participate in the story.

That is all for now.

Have a nice day!

