Playing by the Rules – part 3

by juliusmsanz

And now we reach the final part of my mindless rant.

I must have sound so bitter that I’m afraid to reread my previous posts. What was the purpose of all this?

I think that the purpose is simple: to warn the writer that a writer needs to be more. We already write and edit and revise our works constantly, we need to take it to the next level.And I say this because I believe one writer can still make a lot of money and can still produce a quality piece without having to rely too much on publishers. I still think that one can also advertise and promote and really plug a story. We, as writers, need to do this if we want to move forward.

A while back, and this is what subconsciously must have started this rant, I read something interesting. It went basically like this: the powerful people continue to be powerful because they hide in a very complex system of rules that they designed to remain in power. The rest of the people continue as they are because they cannot understand such complex rules and have to subject themselves to that reality. If one doesn’t break the chain then this circle continues.

I think that as the world changed we have many more opportunities to write and publish something that appeals to us and sells good. And this is because as the world evolves, so do we. I feel like I’ve grown so much since my first try as a writer that it is almost unbelievable. I’ve read a lot, I wrote a lot, I think a lot. And most of all I’m willing to improve and to keep on growing.

So what is this next step? I honestly don’t know. I could say it is something like creating small writing associations with writers helping themselves and others, but I don’t know if that would truly work. I could say something like working to only publish on the internet, but I know that it affects a lot of people. I have family in the publishing business, I wouldn’t want them to have no means of supporting themselves. I do not know what the next step is. But what I do know is that the more I learn and the more I experiment, the more prepared I’ll be.

Writing never was about only writing, and now that is more evident than ever.

How will you change?

