I’m back – and Game of Thrones stuff n spoilers

by juliusmsanz

After another unfortunate absence (overwhelmed with work and other personal affairs), I can say that I’m back for as long as I possibly can, and I’ll give you a heads up: within a month or two I’ll be away for at least a week, as I’ll be travelling.

Now let’s talk about something interesting: my stalker/protector is back after nearly a month, and now I’m more determined than ever to find out who is messing with my mind.

Game of Thrones these past couple of weeks…

What a ride.

It’s funny how you can draw certain comparisons to The Princess Bride, with Arya and Oberyn Martell. Inigo Montoya, in case you don’t know, is the common link here. Making this short: Inigo Montoya’s father was murdered by a swordsman, who turned out to be a major villain. In order to seek revenge Inigo trains and fights for many years so that he can finally meet that killer and say the very famous lines: “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.” Arya memorizes the names of the guys that killed her father and says the names every night. Oberyn… oh Oberyn. Why? He got the short end of the stick on that one. I think his death is quite possibly one of the most violent I’ve seen in the past couple of years and something that I’ll remember for a long time. I’m sorry if I’m spoiling you, but his words as he taunted The Mountain during the duel, those words were of a man who wanted not only justice, but the truth, and that is why his fate is so tragic. But in the end he gets exactly what he wanted: the truth.

You raped my sister, you killed her, you murdered her children.”

He says them all the time, he knows what The Mountain did, but he wants to hear it from him, he wants to confirm everything he already knows, so he can get some rest after all those years. And when you see him fall you knew right there, at that second, that things weren’t going to end well for him. Seeing his teeth shatter all over the place after just one punch and the extremely graphic scene that followed, you have to feel for the guy. And The Mountain confessed in the end, so at least he died with some consolation. (And more than that, but I won’t spoil the story for you.)

It is unfortunate that Oberyn is gone, but at least we got to see a little something from Dorne, and I think that’s awesome.

And let’s not forget the last episode… man oh man was that amazing.

In case you haven’t noticed I’m a big fan of the Night’s Watch, and to see the entire episode focus on that one battle was simply amazing. They definitely made the right call on that one. For a while I forgot I was watching a series, and it was a great experience. Sure it was a shame seeing Pyp and Grenn die in the way they did, but I’m glad they fleshed out those guys a little bit, and at least they died bravely and proved themselves as cool guys. Why do I say this? Well Pyp, and this is why it was good, was scared. It’s a natural reaction and I remember seeing at least one similar character in a movie with Van Damme playing a role in the French Legion film. Even if he died he managed to shake his fears or to keep them in check before dying and killed one of this enemies. Grenn was the lieutenant that Jon needed. He did whatever it took to make sure Jon was respected as a leader and protected the castle improving morale and shaping up a bunch of scared boys facing a giant. (How cool were those giants?) Even those scenes were done well.

Well, I’ll continue tomorrow because there is much more to say and right now I just do not have the time.

See ya and have a nice day!

 

