The Prophet – a small review

by juliusmsanz

the prophet

Just yesterday I got the chance to reread The Prophet, a work by Kahlil Gibran.

It tells the story of Almustafa, a prophet who is waiting to return to his birth place after twelve years in another city. On the very day of his departure, and as he begins to approach his ship, many villagers approach him and ask for his wisdom, so that they can use it and improve themselves. He talks about each topic as villagers ask about love, marriage, teaching, talking, time, and the list goes on.

It’s a very refreshing piece of work with some views that mirror mine. It condenses a lot of religion and yet is not about religion, it shows you how some things are not what they seem, and how certain things should be considered pointless because we attach the wrong meanings to them. There are some especially interesting passages that can teach us a lot, if we are willing to ponder and think about them. I’ll give you some that I considered interesting:

“Your children are not your children. They are the sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself. They come through you but not from you, and though they are with you they do not belong to you. You may give them your love, but not your thoughts, for they have their own thoughts. You may house their bodies but not their souls, for their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow, which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.”

“And I say that life is indeed darkness save when there is urge, and all urge is blind save when there is knowledge. And all knowledge is vain save when there is work, and all work is empty save when there is love”

This is a good book to meditate, but I’m always cautious about these types of books. I’ve also read Paulo Coelho and found some good and some bad. When I mention bad, it’s not in the common sense, but in the way that the author sometimes loses himself and just tries too hard. I’ll always like The Prophet because it points to several aspects I’ve already incorporated in my life, and it shed light onto others, things I never really gave much thought.

It’s a rather short story and one that you can read from time to time, in fact I don’t recommend reading it in one go, rather enjoy some passages and take your time contemplating them. I can also say that it is inspiring and can lead a person to change his/her views on certain parts of life.

This review reminded me of the one book, one story, that made me cry. I’ll probably talk about it tomorrow. Expect a new haiku in a few minutes.

Have a nice day!

