All-Star Week – Day 2

by juliusmsanz

So I continue again with free stories, but I won’t give you the second chapter of the previous story just yet. Today’s story came to me out of nowhere and I started creating an RPG based on it, that project is still in the to do pile, but the short story, or flash fiction, is done, and you’ll get it today. I meant it to be written as if someone from not long ago experienced and told his horrifying tale. Hope I’ve done it well. Now I know I’m going to get hell from this, but when I wrote this story I created my own fonts based on my handwriting, and it turns out only when using caps the letters turned out ok. I apologize in advance but I will not write this out again, since copying and pasting did a lousy job. Plus, I think it kinda looks ok this way, move of a dramatic feel to it.

So here you go, the tale known as The Vastness.

I DO NOT KNOW HOW AND I DO NOT KNOW WHEN, BUT ONE TIME I FOUND MYSELF LOST IN THE VASTNESS.

THE FIRST THING I REMEMBER WAS BEING INSIDE A SMALL HOUSE. IT DID NOT HAVE MUCH IN IT: SOME BROKEN VASES, A DESTROYED TABLE AND CHAIR, BOOKCASES FILLED WITH BOOKS WRITTEN IN A LANGUAGE I DID NOT UNDERSTAND…IT WAS AN UNUSUAL SETTING AND A PROFOUND FEELING OF DREAD MADE ME LEAVE AS I FELT AN OPPRESSIVE AURA NO MATTER WHERE I LOOKED. THAT, HOWEVER, MEANT NOTHING. IT WAS ONLY WHEN I LEFT THE HOUSE THAT I SAW WHAT I WOULD BE FACING: VASTNESS. THERE WAS NOTHING BUT SAND FOR AS LONG AS I COULD SEE. NO PLANTS, JUST A DEAD BUSH AND A DRIED UP WELL. I GATHERED SOME COURAGE AND STARTED SLOWLY WALKING ALONG THAT HOT DESERT, THE SUN SHINNING BRIGHTLY AND ALMOST BLINDING ME WITH EACH STEP I TOOK. ALL I COULD DO WAS WALK TO TRY AND UNDERSTAND WHAT HAPPENED TO ME, WHERE I WAS AND HOW TO LEAVE SUCH A PLACE. THEN, AND MAYBE BECAUSE I HAD NO WATER TO DRINK, I HEARD A FAINT VOICE TELLING ME TO GO BACK TO SLEEP. WAS I NOT DREAMING? HOW COULD SUCH A PLACE BE REAL? I COULD NOT GO INSANE IN MY OWN DREAM. I LOOKED BACK AS THE SMALL HOUSE GOT SMALLER AND SMALLER. MY SWEAT BEGAN TURNING COLD; I TRIED TO SEE IT CLEARLY, BUT COULD NOT, NO MATTER HOW HARD I TRIED.
I HAD TO RETURN.
ON MY WAY BACK I SAW A STRANGE BLACK BALL WITH WHITE MARKS. IT WAS CERTAINLY A MIRAGE, BUT WHAT MADE ME HAVE A DELUSION ABOUT A BLACK BALL, THAT I DO NOT KNOW. STILL, IT WAS A CURIOUS AFFAIR. TAKING ANOTHER PATH WOULD MAKE ME LOST FOREVER IN THAT DESERT SO, EVEN SCARED, I WENT TOWARDS THE BALL.
– AH! HAVE YOU FINALLY COME TO VISIT YOU? – ROARED THE CREATURE, MAKING ME ALMOST COLLAPSE WITH FEAR.
I TRIED TO RESPOND THE BEST I COULD BUT MY VOICE HAD DISAPEARED. WHAT DID THE CREATURE MEAN? I HAD DONE NOTHING.
– IF YOU LOOK INTO MY EYES YOU WILL KNOW. – BUT I DID NOT LOOK BECAUSE THE CREATURE WAS SCARY. I WANTED TO RUN.
AND WHEN I CLOSED MY EYES, BECAUSE THAT SIGHT WAS TOO HORRIBLE TO WITNESS, THE CREATURE WAS GONE. THE ONLY THING LEFT TO DO WAS TO GO BACK TO THE HOUSE.
THE HOUSE WAS SMALL AND NOT IN THE BEST SHAPE, BUT IT WAS BETTER THAN THE CREATURE. I THOUGHT ABOUT THE BOOKS AGAIN, AS THERE WAS NOTHING ELSE TO DO, AND I DECIDED TO LIE DOWN ON THE STRAW THAT SERVED AS A BED WHILE READING ONE OF THOSE BOOKS. PAGE AFTER PAGE, EVERY SINGLE LINE HAD SYMBOLS I HAD NEVER SEEN BEFORE IN MY LIFE. WERE THEY SOME SORT OF CODE? TRY AS I MIGHT I COULD NOT FIGURE OUT IF SOME MEANT VOGALS, SINCE THE SYMBOLS WERE IN THE THOUSANDS. I PUT DOWN THE BOOK MOMENTS AFTER. THE BOOKS WOULD NOT HELP ME, SO WHY BOTHER WITH THEM?
AND YET ANOTHER EVENT CAME TO SURPRISE ME: NO MATTER HOW MUCH TIME PASSED, THE SUN WOULD NOT SET. I WAITED FOR A VERY LONG TIME IN THAT HOUSE, AT LEAST ONE DAY AND THE NIGHT WOULD NOT APPEAR.
WHAT SCARED ME THE MOST WAS THE FREQUENT RASPS AT THE DOOR, AS IF SOMEONE OR SOMETHING WANTED TO GET INSIDE, BUT I COULD NOT ASK WHO IT WAS AND I DID NOT WANT TO OPEN THE DOOR TO A CREATURE.
MY ONLY CONFORT WAS A SMALL PIECE OF OLD BREAD INSIDE A LARGE VASE ON THE FLOOR. I WAS NOT HUNGRY BUT I ATE IT LITTLE BY LITTLE. NOW THAT I REMEMBER IT, I DID NOT FEEL ANY THIRST EITHER, A WEIRD THING TO NOT FEEL.
– CAN YOU PLEASE GIVE ME SOME BREAD? – IT WAS THE CREATURE AGAIN, I RECOGNIZED THAT BLOODCURLING SOUND.
BUT THE CREATURE WAS SCARY AND I DID NOT WANT TO GIVE MY BREAD.
– SHARE A BIT WITH ME.
I PRETENDED NOT TO LISTEN AND AFTER A WHILE THE CREATURE LEFT. I REMEMBER THE HAPPINESS I FELT AFTER THAT SMALL, BUT EXHAUSTING, VICTORY. I ALMOST FELL ASLEEP THAT TIME.
ANOTHER DAY PASSED AND I DECIDED TO GO OUTSIDE AGAIN. THERE WAS STILL ONLY SAND AND NOTHING TO DO BUT WALK. I COULD NOT STAY IN THAT HOUSE FOREVER. AT THAT TIME I DECIDED TO COME PREPARED AND, AFTER BREAKING A BRANCH FROM THE BUSH, I MADE A SMALL WEAPON. IT WAS BETTER THAN NOTHING AND I COULD FACE THE BEAST A LITTLE BIT BETTER.
AFTER EXPLORING FOR A COUPLE OF HOURS, THERE WAS REALLY NOTHING TO EXPLORE AS ONLY SAND EXISTED, I MET THE CREATURE YET AGAIN AND PREPARED MY WEAPON.
– ARE YOU READY TO LOOK INTO MY EYES? – ASKED THE CREATURE.
BUT I DID NOT RESPOND AND I WALKED FORWARD. WITH THE BRANCH FROM THE DEAD BUSH I ATTACKED THE FACE OF THE CREATURE. I THINK IT WAS ITS FACE. THE HOWLS WERE SO FIERCE THAT I ALMOST FROZE FROM THE SCARE I GOT. BUT I HAD TO KEEP ON GOING, AND AFTER THAT ONE MOMENT WHEN I MANAGED TO HURT IT, I KEPT STRIKING AND STRIKING WITH DEEP DESPAIR. THE CREATURE DIDN’T OFFER MUCH RESISTANCE.
SHORTLY AFTER STRIKING WHAT I ASSUMED TO BE THE FINAL BLOW THE CREATURE TURNED TO ME, NOW WITH A SOFTER GROWL, AS IT WAS DYING.
– I ASKED FOR YOUR KINDNESS AND YOU ATTACKED AND KILLED ME; I COULD HAVE TOLD YOU WHAT WAS IN THE BOOKS, THE WAY OUT OF HERE, OR I COULD HAVE TOLD YOU HOW TO WRITE NEW BOOKS TO LEAVE THIS PLACE, BUT NOW I LACK THE STRENGHT. – I LOOKED ON WITH HORROR AT THE CREATURE AS IT CONTINUED TO SPEAK. – YOU DID NOT CARE, AND NOW YOU WILL ASK ME TO CARE, BUT I CANNOT HELP YOU.
I TRIED TO SPEAK BUT COULD NOT. HAD THE CREATURE BEEN MY SALVATION?
– YOU COULD HAVE FOUND THE WAY OUT OF THE VASTNESS, IT IS SUCH A PITY THAT YOU DID NOT TRY TO UNDERSTAND WHAT IS GOING ON AROUND YOU. NOW, I WILL JUST HAVE TO SEND YOU BACK TO YOUR DREAM.
I LOST MY SENSES AND WOKE UP. NO LONGER EXISTED THE SMALL HOUSE, NO LONGER EXISTED THE DESERT KNOWN AS VASTNESS. I WAS FINALLY BACK IN THE REAL WORLD. IT WAS ONLY THEN THAT I UNDERSTOOD, BUT EVEN KNOW, IN MY DREAMS, I CONTINUE TO FIGHT IT. THE VASTNESS WAS ONLY A REFLECTION.

 

Hope you have enjoyed it, tomorrow there will be more.

Have a great day!

