Decisions, decisions

by juliusmsanz

Or indecision. That could have been a suitable title for this post.

Once again my plans change, but the goal remains the same. And I do this for a couple of reasons:

  1. The story the way I had envisioned it was going nowhere fast in spite of the 4000 words I got done today.
  2. I prefer to work on smaller stories that aren’t drawn out.

So I throw a big chunk of my manuscript away and don’t even give it a second thought. I think this a fundamental part of writing so I figured I could discuss it here along with an interesting point regarding stories.

This is probably the first time I’ve been so indecisive about a story. Usually I just start and work at full speed. This time however I find that in order to give something I can consider above average I need to realize my limitations and work with what I’m most skilled at. Short stories and flash fiction aren’t crap; in fact I think it takes quite a bit of talent to limit yourself while telling a story; that and the fact that I just can’t seem to work major plots at the moment. The rust will shake off eventually.

But this actually made me improve as a writer even more, and here’s why: I no longer cling to a story that deep inside I know it won’t turn out the way I want to. Word output has never been a problem for me, but that doesn’t mean it is quality output. To write something and then throw it away it means you have matured. At least that’s how I look at it. It means you won’t settle for crap.

If you focus on certain specific elements of a story and you are limiting its length, then you know that you have the time and some leverage to truly develop those elements.

I just hope I’m not disappointing anybody by going for a compilation. The fox is still a big part of a story.

And here’s something I found that makes story writing easier: focus on three or four elements that you want to see in a story and let it fly. If they are random it doesn’t matter, in fact it adds to the challenge. It’s easier to come up with the core of the story and you know what you’re gunning for. Working on those and fitting the pieces of the puzzle is fun and hard at the same time. Plus it takes less time to revise and to build the story as a whole.

Am I making sense? To say things have been complicated today would be the understatement of the year.

Tomorrow I’ll be releasing part 3 of the man in the train station.

Have a great day!

