Jorge Luis Borges – a master

by juliusmsanz

First of all let me apologize for not posting anything these past couple of days, but life is still crazy as hell and I barely have the time to manage my schedule. That being said I think it’s time to shed some light onto one of the greatest writers I’ve ever read.

I find it quite amazing that his work is often left unseen and forgotten, but I truuly think that Jorge Luis Borges has written some of the best short stories ever.

Why is his work so special?

First of all his knowledge was tremendous and it showed in his stories, you’d often see stories, books and fictitious characters mentioned in his stories, and the use he makes of the written language is second to none. This happens for a couple of reasons: first of all he wastes no words. I think this is important for writing because each word matters, and he makes sure every single one count. Many people consider his work to be perhaps too literary or difficult to read, but if you actually give it a chance you see that it is not the case, as the stories are simple, not confusing at all, and beautiful in most cases.

Next thing that needs to be mentioned is that he borrows concepts from Kafka and even Camus I think, or at least I know that Camus borrowed the sense of situations being pointless and absurd. The works of Jorge Luis Borges constantly mention labyrinths and feature some sort of dream like feeling to them. That means that the characters are conflicted or feel lost in the maze of life.

Why do I like him so much? Because of all reasons mentioned previously and I feel he was a bit of an absurdist, one of the things I believe, like Kafka and Camus also were. But I won’t bring Philosophy to the table at this hour.

Most of his stories are highly symbolic and feature many interesting elements and it is a shame he is not very well-known throughout the world. In his heyday he was extremely popular in Argentina, his country, but unknown everywhere else.

This is all I have for you today, my friends.

Have a great day!

