Flash Fiction Analysis – 2

by juliusmsanz

Today I’m afraid I have to be quite brief. But let me tell you what came to mind while thinking about this story.

The first thing was Frankenstein. If you’ve read the book you know that the monster had no name, Frankenstein was the name of the creator. If you’ve read the book then you also know that he was escaping the monster and that the main series of events were caused by the creator, who abandoned his creation and vilified it without real reason. It’s clear that the same thing happens here. But I also believe that something like I described happens around the world, not only with human beings, but also animals.

The second part of the tale was based around the legend of Orpheus and Eurydice. I’m a sucker for greek myths. Orpheus goes to the underworld to meet his wife, and in the story the boy returns home to meet his mother. In the myth Orpheus would lose his wife if he turned around, and the boy would lose his life if he did not turn around. This time the odds were bigger, has they involved death, but I think also gave the story much more strenght. Misunderstandings happen all the time, and people tend to be somewhat paranoid. What happens when you bring it to an extreme?

So this was a tale of revenge, but not really revenge. Nobody got what they wanted out of the whole ordeal and everybody suffered without a reason. Overall I enjoyed writing this, and I think it’s a bit of a lesson as the more you read the more you can play around with your writing.

I plan to have a Haiku for you in a couple of hours.

Until then.

